Withdrawal Agreement Explained European Commission

The BRITISH Parliament passes a law obliging the UK government to request a delay to Brexit if there is no agreement with the EU by 19 October 2019. On October 22, 2019, the House of Commons voted by 329 votes to 299 to give a second reading to the revised withdrawal agreement (negotiated by Boris Johnson earlier this month), but when the accelerated timetable he proposed did not receive the necessary parliamentary support, Johnson announced that the legislation would be suspended. [38] [12] Immediately after the announcement of a revised withdrawal agreement on 17 October 2019, Labour, the Liberal Democrats and the DUP declared that they could not support the new agreement. [30] The agreement also establishes a transitional period, which runs until 31 December 2020 and can be extended once by mutual agreement. During the transition period, EU law will continue to apply to the UK (including participation in the European Economic Area, the Single Market and the Customs Union) and the UK will continue to contribute to the EU budget, but the UK will not be represented in EU decision-making bodies. The transition period will give businesses time to adjust to the new situation and give THE UK and EU governments time to negotiate a new EU-UK trade deal. [17] [18] The new EU-UK RELATIONSHIP will start if an agreement approved by the EU Member States, the European Parliament and the UK Parliament has been reached. The European Union and the United Kingdom reach a draft withdrawal agreement. The EU and the UK reach a provisional agreement.

It provides for a transitional period until 31 December 2020 during which all EU rules will continue to apply. It also covers the border between Ireland and Northern Ireland. The main provisions of the Withdrawal Agreement are as follows: The Northern Ireland Protocol, commonly known as the “Irish backstop”, was an annex to the draft agreement of November 2018 that outlined the provisions to prevent a hard border in Ireland after the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. The Protocol contains a provision on a safety net to deal with circumstances in which other satisfactory arrangements have yet to enter into force at the end of the transition period. This project has been replaced by a new protocol which will be described below. On 22nd October the British Parliament agreed to review the Brexit legislation. But he decided it needed longer than the British Prime Minister had proposed. This means that a withdrawal with an agreement on the scheduled Brexit date of 31 October is no longer possible. The Brexit deal will not come into force until the Brexit law is passed by the UK Parliament. The Withdrawal Agreement provided for a transition period until the end of 2020, during which the EU and the UK largely continued as if the UK were still a member of the EU. The only substantial exception was that the UK was no longer involved in the EU decision-making process or in the activities of the EU institutions during the transition period.

The Withdrawal Agreement Breakdown of the Withdrawal Agreement specific to the Article (in Finnish) In the irish border issue, there is a protocol on Northern Ireland (the “backstop”) annexed to the agreement which sets out an alternative position that will only enter into force if no other effective arrangement can be demonstrated before the end of the transition period. If this happens, the UK will follow the EU`s common external tariff and Northern Ireland will retain some aspects of the single market until such a demonstration is achieved. None of the parties can unilaterally withdraw from this customs union. The aim of this backstop agreement is to avoid a “hard” border in Ireland where customs controls are necessary. [19] The Withdrawal Agreement also contains a Protocol on the Sovereign Base Areas of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland in Cyprus and a Protocol on Gibraltar, which regulates the specific issues raised by the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the EU with regard to Gibraltar. The UK left the EU on 31 January 2020 at midnight CET (23:00 GMT). A transitional period now applies until 31 December 2020. During this period, all EU rules and laws will continue to apply in the UK. For businesses or for the public, almost nothing changes. This will give everyone more time to prepare for the new agreements that the EU and the UK intend to conclude after 31 December 2020. Article 50 of the Treaty on European Union governs the withdrawal procedure of each Member State. Under this rule, any EU member state can decide to withdraw in accordance with its constitutional law.

Once this decision is announced, the EU will negotiate with this state how it will leave the EU and its future relationship with the EU. 9 January 2019 – The EU Withdrawal Act 2018 obliges Parliament to pass a motion to approve the Withdrawal Agreement and the framework for the future relationship between the UK and the EU. This so-called “significant vote” was supposed to take place on December 11, 2018, but was canceled by the prime minister the day before due to the likely defeat. It has now been confirmed that the vote will take place on 15 January 2019 (with press reports suggesting that the government will give further assurances on the controversial Irish backstop). But what if MPs don`t vote for the deal next week? Let`s look at some of the options. The UK government and the remaining 27 EU member states accept the draft agreement. .